Picks for Book Lovers

I am an avid reader. I love dystopian, fantasy non-fiction, historical, spiritual and biographies! Some books I absolutely adore include Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, The Valley of the Dolls, The 5 People You Meet in Heaven

This book was completely captivating. If you know nothing of Zelda or her husband F. Scott Fitzgerald they were fantastic authors and 2 of the biggest socialites of the 1920’s. The entire book is told from Zelda’s point of view. It’s a work of fiction but is based off of their letters, journals, and real life events. I fell in love with Zelda after reading this, she went through so much and you feel how it breaks her and then makes her stronger. Amazon has made this book into a mini series. I have yet to check it out but will soon! Rating: 9/10

 I honestly picked this off of the shelf because it had pink pages. One thing about me, if it’s pink I love it. I enjoyed this book! The novel follows 3 women as they navigate love, and the  film and entertainment industry in New York and Los Angeles over the span of 20 years (1945-1975). Its surprisingly easy to relate to and still relevant and entertaining today. It originally came out in 1966 and went on to sell tens of millions of copies within a  year of its release date. A year later a film was released, you can catch it on Netflix. I really did not enjoy the movie, it (like most movies based on novels) did the book no justice. Rating: 6.5/10

This book follows the main character Eddie. He’s a regular working class guy who encounters an accident that causes his death. In Heaven he encounters 5 people who either had a significant impact on his life or whom’s lives he had an impact on. I had tears in my eyes by the end of this book. It’s a fantastic read and truly makes you reevaluate your relationships and encounters. Rating: 8/10

-Nicole

Leave a Reply

